£5.80 an hour (in London)

Debate about anything going on in the world. Please remember, everyone has their own opinion.

£5.80 an hour (in London)

Postby UFGN » Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:33 pm

I was getting my morning coffee from a Cafe Nero near were I work a couple of days ago. I go there regularly and I was chatting to the bloke as he made the coffee... In the conversation I learned that, A) he has a masters degree and many of his collegues also have degrees and B) he earns....£5.80 an hour. In London. Thats shift work, earliest start 0430 (ouch!) and the only exception is when they work beyond 9pm they get an extra £2.50. No enhancements for weekend work.

How can that be allowed in 2010?
Corinthians 15:57; But thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus

UFGN
Member of the Year 2014, 2019

Re: £5.80 an hour (in London)

Postby Leody » Sat Apr 03, 2010 1:23 am

Economics man... the economy sucks.

I have a masters degree and can't even find a job... at all...

But just because I have a degree I am not automatically entitled to anything in life. There isn't a magic job fairy out there that will magically give me a job, it is up to me to either prove my worth to somebody else or take the leap and start working for myself. Up to this point I have been unable to do either, but that is nobody's fault but my own. There are fewer jobs out there and more competition for every opening now, so it makes it harder to stand out. If you're worthy and you put in the effort you will find something.

And that guy working in the coffee shop with a masters degree is in the same boat.

Just because I have a masters degree doesn't mean I'm automatically a better employee than John Q. Public. I have to prove to prospective employers that I am better than the other options out there.

Or I could just go get a job in the government and live off everybody else's hard work...
This space used to be more fun...
Leody
George Graham
George Graham